DM-2

CCtCap Demo Mission 2

Demo Mission - 2

Contents of this page

i spent a lot of days updating this page

Information

  • Mission name : CCtCap Demo Mission 2

  • Launch date UNIX : 1590611580

  • Launch date UTC : 2020-05-27T20:33:00.000Z

  • Launch date local : 2020-05-27T16:33:00-04:00

  • Site name : KSC LC 39A

  • Site name long : Kennedy Space Center Historic Launch Complex 39A

  • Reddit campaign : url

  • Vessels

  • Rocket : Falcon 9 Block 5

  • First stage

    • Core serial : B1058

    • Landing type : ASDS (Autonomous Spaceport Drone Ship)

    • Landing vehicle : OCISLY (Of Course I Still Love You)

  • Second stage

    • Payload id : CCtCap Demo Mission 2

    • Payload type : Crew Dragon

    • Customers : NASA (CCtCap)

    • Orbit : ISS

      • Reference system : geocentric

      • Regime : low-earth

  • Other statistics

    • First crewed SpaceX mission!

    • Flight N°94

    • After a decade humans will fly again from U.S. , last was in 2011.

  • Recent Twitter news

    • The Crew Dragon has arrived to Launch Complex 39A! 🐉 May 18, 2020

    • Crew Dragon and Falcon 9 in the hangar at Launch Complex 39A, May 21, 2020

    • Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon are vertical on the launch pad, May 21, 2020

    • The Flight Readiness Review has concluded! NASA's SpaceX Crew Dragon mission is cleared to proceed toward liftoff. May 22, 2020

    • Static fire of Falcon 9 complete – targeting Wednesday, May 27 at 4:33 p.m. EDT for Crew Dragon’s launch May 22, 2020

    • Team is performing additional pre-flight checkouts of Falcon 9, Crew Dragon, and the ground support system ahead of tomorrow’s Demo-2 mission. Weather forecast for launch is 60% favorable. May 26, 2020

    • Targeting 4:33 p.m. EDT today for Falcon 9’s launch of Crew Dragon with @NASA astronauts on board. Teams are closely monitoring launch and downrange weather. May 27, 2020

    • Standing down from launch today due to unfavorable weather in the flight path. Our next launch opportunity is Saturday, May 30 at 3:22 p.m. EDT, or 19:22 UTC— May 27, 2020

Details :

SpaceX will launch the second demonstration mission of its Crew Dragon vehicle as part of NASA's Commercial Crew Transportation Capability Program (CCtCap), carrying two NASA astronauts to the International Space Station. Barring unexpected developments, this mission will be the first crewed flight to launch from the United States since the end of the Space Shuttle program in 2011. DM-2 demonstrates the Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon's ability to safely transport crew to the space station and back to Earth and it is the last major milestone for certification of Crew Dragon. Initially, the mission duration was planned to be no longer than two weeks; however, NASA has been considering an extension to as much as six weeks or three months. The astronauts have been undergoing additional training for the possible longer mission.

Also a pretty cool photo taken during the launch

Timezones Africa

Zone

Date

Relative to UTC/GMT

Casablanca

May 30 2020 20:22:00

GMT +01:00

Cairo

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Freetown

May 30 2020 19:22:00

GMT +00:00

Johannesburg

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Lagos

May 30 2020 20:22:00

GMT +01:00

Tripoli

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Tunis

May 30 2020 20:22:00

GMT +01:00

Dakar

May 30 2020 19:22:00

GMT +00:00

Timezones America

Zone

Date

Relative to UTC/GMT

Argentina/Buenos Aires

May 30 2020 16:22:00

GMT -03:00

Chicago

May 30 2020 14:22:00

GMT -05:00

Detroit

May 30 2020 15:22:00

GMT -04:00

Glace Bay

May 30 2020 16:22:00

GMT -03:00

Los Angeles

May 30 2020 12:22:00

GMT -07:00

Mexico City

May 30 2020 14:22:00

GMT -05:00

New York

May 30 2020 15:22:00

GMT -04:00

Toronto

May 30 2020 15:22:00

GMT -04:00

Vancouver

May 30 2020 12:22:00

GMT -07:00

Sao Paulo

May 30 2020 16:22:00

GMT -03:00

Timezones Asia

Zone

Date

Relative to UTC/GMT

Baghdad

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Bangkok

May 31 2020 02:22:00

GMT +07:00

Damascus

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Dubai

May 30 2020 23:22:00

GMT +04:00

Gaza

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Hong Kong

May 31 2020 03:22:00

GMT +08:00

Kolkata

May 31 2020 00:52:00

GMT +05:30

Kuwait

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT+03:00

Qatar

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Seoul

May 31 2020 04:22:00

GMT +09:00

Shanghai

May 31 2020 03:22:00

GMT +08:00

Singapore

May 31 2020 03:22:00

GMT +08:00

Tokyo

May 31 2020 04:22:00

GMT +09:00

Vladivostok

May 31 2020 05:22:00

GMT +10:00

Timezones Australia

Zone

Date

Relative to UTC/GMT

Sydney

May 31 2020 05:22:00

GMT +10:00

Melbourne

May 31 2020 05:22:00

GMT +10:00

Timezones Europa

Zone

Date

Relative to UTC/GMT

Amsterdam

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Athens

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Berlin

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Bucharest

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Copenhagen

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Dublin

May 30 2020 20:22:00

GMT +01:00

Helsinki

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Istanbul

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Kaliningrad

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

London

May 30 2020 20:22:00

GMT +01:00

Madrid

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Monaco

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Moscow

May 30 2020 22:22:00

GMT +03:00

Oslo

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Paris

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Rome

May 30 2020 21:22:00

GMT +02:00

Volgograd

May 30 2020 23:22:00

GMT +04:00

Telemetry

To extract this telemetry more than 2 GigaBytes were analysed and spent more than 5 hours

The entiere Telemetry of the launch has been extracted using SpaceXTelemetry (program that i wrote, not open source now)

SXT reads data frame by frame and it uses the Optical Character Recognition (OCR) and sometimes this OCR could give wrong results because it isn't perfect, so some numbers are faked a little, with all the extracted data i started making comparisons and graphs

ISA Calculations (International Standard Altitude) these calculations are valid just in the first 80.000 meters of altitude

Predicted calculations predicted calculations done to the launch ( not everytime they are accurate)

  • Vertical speed file in CSV or JSON,

  • Horizontal speed file in CSV or JSON,

  • Downrange file in CSV or JSON,

  • Acceleration file in CSV or JSON,

  • Analysis file in CSV or JSON, (contains all the data above except the acceleration)

Graphs

ISA Calculations graphs (International Standard Altitude)

these calculations are valid just in the first 80.000 meters of altitude

Predicted calculations

Mission Timeline

  • 00:01:01 MAX Q : MAXIMUM DYNAMIC PRESSURE THIS IS THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF AERODYNAMIC STRESS EXERTED ON THE VEHICLE

  • 00:02:38 MECO : MAIN ENGINE CUTOFF

  • 00:02:41 STAGE SEPARATION : STAGE 1 HAS SEPARATED FROM STAGE 2

  • 00:02:52 SES-1 : SES-1 SECOND ENGINE STARTUP 1

  • 00:07:23 Stage 1: STAGE 1 IS STARTING ITS ENTRY BURN SLOWING IT DOWN FOR ENTRY INTO THE ATMOSPHERE

  • 00:08:50 SECO 1 : SECOND ENGINE CUTOFF 1

  • 00:08:58 STAGE 1 LANDING : STAGE 1 HAS BEGUN ITS LANDING BURN SLOWING IT FOR TOUCHOUWN AT SEA

  • 00:12:08 Crew Dragon separation : Crew Dragon separated from the second stage and began a course for the International Space Station

  • 17:54:00 Crew Dragon reached Waypoint 1 for docking with the ISS.

  • 18:54:40 Docking : Initial docking with the ISS.

  • 21:39:00 Hatch Opening : Hatch opening

API

The api is published and documentated SpaceXTelemetry-API

Support me

If you want to help keeping this site alive and updated, you couldBuy me a coffee :)

Contact

email : yessou.rayan@gmail.com